2007 CONCACAF Gold Cup

The CONCACAF Gold Cup is the national football competition of the CONCACAF (Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football). The competition is held every other year. The first competition was held in 1963. In 1991 the competition changed its name to the present Gold Cup.

The 2007 competition is currently being held in the USA. The group stages finished on 13th June. The following eight teams continue to the knock-out stages:

  • Canada
  • USA
  • Honduras
  • Costa Rica
  • Guatemala
  • Mexico
  • Guadeloupe
  • Panama

The group matches between Honduras – Mexico (2-1), Panama – Cuba (2-2), Cuba – Honduras (0-5) and Mexico – Panama (1-0) all attracted crowds of over 68,000 at the Giants Stadium in New Jersey and the Reliant Stadium in Houston, Texas.

The Quarter-finals  are due to be played 16th and 17th June, the Semi-finals 21st June and the Final in Chicago 24th June.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: