Real Madrid La Liga Champions 2007

Real Madrid regained the Spanish La Liga for the first time since 2003. At half-time Barcelona led comfortably at Gimnastic 3-0 while Real trailed 0-1 at the Santiago Bernabéu after that Varela had scored in the 17th minute for Mallorca. Real’s fightback began in the 68th minute when substitute José Antonio Reyes scored his first of two goals in the 3-1 victory.

2005 and 2006 champions Barcelona had to settle for second spot despite a 5-1 victory at Gimnastic.

Italian coach Fabio Capello won his second La Liga trophy with Real. The first came in his previous spell at the club in 1996-97. Capello has also won the Italian championship (Scudetto) four times with AC Milan (1991-92, 1992-93, 1993-94 and 1995-96) and once with AS Roma (2000-01). The two Scudetto’s he won with Juventus in 2004-05 and 2005-06 where later stripped from the club due the match-fixing scandal that rocked Italian football.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: