FIFA Under-20 World Cup

The 2007 FIFA Under-20 World Cup will be held in Canada between 30th June and 22nd July. The 24 teams that have qualified for the finals are arranged in six groups:

  • A) Canada, Chile, Congo and Austria
  • B) Jordan, Zambia, Spain and Uruguay
  • C) Portugal, New Zealand, Gambia and Mexico
  • D) Poland, Brazil, Korea Republic and USA
  • E) Korea DPR, Panama, Argentina and Czech Republic
  • F) Japan, Scotland, Nigeria and Costa Rica

The competition has been played 15 times since 1977. Argentina have won five times, Brazil four times and Portugal twice. Some players who have starred in the previous tournaments are:

  • 2005: Lionel Messi (Argentina)
  • 2001: Javier Saviola (Argentina)
  • 1993: Adriano (Brazil)
  • 1979: Maradona (Argentina)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: