On this day – Argentina win 1978 World Cup Final

25th June 1978: Argentina win 3-1 over Netherlands in the World Cup Final at the Estadio Monumental in Buenos Aires, Argentina. Netherlands’ Dick Nanninga scores an equalizer in the 82nd minute to send the final to extra-time. Mario Kempes scores his second goal of the final in the 105th minute to give Argentina the lead. A further goal by Daniel Bertoni secures a 3-1 victory to the host nation.


Argentina: Fillol – Olguin, Galvan, Passarella (c), Tarantini – Ardiles (66 Larossa), Gallego, Kempes, Bertoni – Luqué, Ortiz (75 Houseman)

Netherlands: Jongbloed – Poortvliet, Krol (c), Brandts, Jansen (73 Suurbier) – Neeskens, Haan, W. van de Kerkhof, R. van de Kerkhof – Rep (59 Nanninga), Rensenbrink

The tournament had two group stages and no knock-out matches. Argentina secured their final places thanks to a better goal difference than Brazil. Argentina won their final group match 6-0 over Peru. Netherlands won their group above Italy and West Germany.

This was the first World Cup trophy for Argentina and they became the sixth team to win the World Cup (after Uruguay, Italy, West Germany, Brazil and England). Eight years later Argentina won next World Cup to be held outside Europe when they beat West Germany in  Mexico. The defeated finalists in 1978 Netherlands had also lost the previous final against West Germany in Munich.

Mario Kempes was the tournaments top-scorer with six goals.





Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: