Copa América 2007 begins today

The 42nd Copa América tournament begins in Venezuela today. The opening match is between Uruguay and Peru. The 12 competing teams are divided into three groups:

  • A) Venezuela, Uruguay, Peru and Bolivia
  • B) Brazil, Chile, Mexico and Ecuador
  • C) Argentina, Paraguay, Colombia and USA

The top two from each group and the two best third placed teams will go to the knockout stages. The final is to be played on the 15th July.

Brazil have won three of the previous four tournaments but trail behind Argentina and Uruguay who have won 14 championships. Brazil have won a total of seven tournaments.

All ten CONMEBOL (CONfederación SudaMEricana de FútBOL) members compete for championship. Two teams from the CONCACAF (Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football) are invited to the tournament. In 2007 the invited teams are USA and Mexico.

The equivalent tournament in the CONCACAF is the Gold Cup that USA won two days ago.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: