Brazil win 2007 Copa América

Brazil retain the Copa América title after defeating Argentina 3-0 in the final. An early goal by Julio Baptista in the fourth minute and an own goal by Roberto Ayala gave Brazil a 2-0 lead at half-time. Sevilla’s right back Daniel Alves concluded the scoring in the 69th minute to give Brazil the title for the eighth time.

Argentina had a more convincing route to the final winning all their three group games before defeating Peru 4-0 in the Quarter-final and Mexico 3-0 in the Semi-Final. The Argentina attack was spearheaded by the Tevez, Messi and Riquelme who finished as the tournament’s second highest scorer with five goals.

Brazil had to work harder to reach the Final. They lost their first group match 0-2 against Mexico. Wins over Chile (3-0) and Ecuador (1-0) secured Brazil second spot in their group and a place in the Quarter-Final where they met Chile for the second time and won 6-1. Brazil defeated Uruguay 5-4 on penalties in the Semi-Final to secure their place in the Final.

Brazilian striker Robinho finished as the tournaments top scorer with six goals.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: