England 32 Scotland 24 France 3 Portugal 2

Their have been 61 English football champions since the second world war. 32 of these champions where managed by English managers, 24 by Scottish managers, three by a French manager and 2 by a Portuguese manager.

The last English manager was Howard Wilkinson from Sheffield who managed Leeds United to the title in 1991-92.

Six Scottish managers share 24 titles:

  • Alex Ferguson 9 titles with Manchester United
  • Matt Busby 5 titles with Manchester United
  • Kenny Dalglish 3 titles with Liverpool and 1 with Blackburn
  • Bill Shankly 3 titles with Liverpool
  • George Graham 2 titles with Arsenal
  • Dave Mackay 1 title with Derby County

Bob Paisley is the English manager with most title since the war – six.

Two other managers have won the English title three times since the war – Stan Cullis with Wolves and Arsene Wenger with Arsenal.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: