On This Day – Peter Shilton Born

18-9-1949: On this day in 1949 England’s most capped player Peter Shilton was born.

Shilton began his career in his home town team Leicester City replacing the aging keeper legend Gordon Banks. 19 year old Shilton was on the losing side of the 1969 FA Cup Final. Leicester lost 1-0 to Manchester City.

The following season Shilton made his debut for England in a 3-1 victory over East Germany at Wembley – Francis Lee, Alan Clarke and Martin Peters scored for England.

In 1974 Shilton joined Stoke City for £325,000. But it was at Nottingham Forest under Brian Clough that he reached his club peak playing in the side that won the League in 1977-78 (Shilton conceded 18 goals in 37 games) and the European Cup in 1979 (1-0 vs Malmo) and 1980 (1-0 vs Hamburger SV). Shilton was voted PFA Player of the Year in 1978.

At the start of his England career he competed against Banks, Bonetti and Stepney for the England number one shirt. But for the majority of his career Liverpool’s Ray Clemence was the main competition. Clemence made 61 appearances while Shilton made 125. At one stage they played in alternate matches under Ron Greenwood.

Shilton made his debut in the World Cup Finals in Spain (1982) at the age of 32. England conceded one goal in five matches but went out after 0-0 draws against West Germany and Spain. Four years later in Mexico Shilton was beaten by The Hand of God in England’s dramatic quarter-final defeat to Argentina. In 1986 Shilton conceded three goals in five games. Shilton’s third and final World Cup was in Italy in 1990 where England lost to West Germany in a semi-final penalty shoot-out in Turin. The third place play-off was Shiltons final England game.

Shilton played his 1000th competitive game in 1997 for Leyton Orient vs Brighton. He completed five more games before he retired at the age of 47.

England’s most capped players:

  1. Peter Shilton, 125 (1970-1990)
  2. Bobby Moore, 108 (1962-1973)
  3. Bobby Charlton, 106 (1958-1970)
  4. Billy Wright, 105 (1946-1959)
  5. David Beckham, 97 (1996-)

Some of England goalkeepers:

  • Peter Shilton 80 goals in 125 games (0.64 pr game). 66 clean sheets.
  • David Seaman 44 goals in 75 games (0.59 pr game). 40 clean sheets.
  • Gordon Banks 57 goals in 73 games (0.78 pr game). 35 clean sheets.
  • Ray Clemence 54 goals in 61 games (0.89 pr game). 27 clean sheets.
  • Chris Woods 25 goals in 43 games (0.58 pr game). 26 clean sheets.
  • Paul Robinson 18 goals in 36 games (0.50 pr game). 21 clean sheets.
  • David James 31 goals in 34 games (0.91 pr game). 13 clean sheets.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: