In This Year in Football – 1974

20th January: First Football League game to played on a Sunday – Millwall 1 Fulham 0.

2nd March: Wolverhampton beat Manchester City 2-1 in the League Cup Final. Hibbit and Richards scored for Wolves and Colin Bell for City.

27th April: Denis Law scores for Manchester City to relegate Manchester United.

4th May: Liverpool win FA Cup Final 3-0 against Newcastle. Keegan scores two and Highway one. An average of 16,646 saw the 167 matches in the 1973-74 FA Cup this compares with 14,043 in the 2006-07 season.

8th May: East German 1.FC Magdeburg win the Cup Winners’ Cup Final 2-0 against AC Milan in Rotterdam.

15th May: Bayern Munich and Atletico Madrid draw 1-1 in the final of the European Cup.

17th May: Bayern Munich win the replay 4-0. Hoeness and Muller both score two. Both games are played at the Heysel Stadium in Brussels.

21st May: The first leg of the UEFA Cup Final between Tottenham and Feyenoord ends 2-2 at White Hart Lane.

29th May: Feeyenoord win the second leg 2-0 to take the trophy.

7th July: West Germany win World Cup Final 2-1 against Holland. Neeskens scores from the penalty spot after only two minutes but Breitner equalises in the 25th minute and Muller scores the winner in the 43rd minute. The Final is played in Munich’s Olympiastadion. Poland’s Lato is the tournaments top scorer with seven goals.

26th July: Bob Paisley becomes Liverpool’s manager.

10th August: Liverpool win the first Charity Shield match to be played at Wembley 6-5 on penalties. Bremner for Leeds and Keegan for Liverpool are the first British players to be sent off at Wembley.

Also in 1974:

Leeds’ defender Norman Hunter wins the first PFA Players’ Player of the Year Award. Ipswich Town defender Kevin Beattie wins the Young Player of the Year Award.

Barcelona’s Johan Cruyff is voted European Footballer of the Year. Bayern Munich’s Beckenbauer is in second place and Denya of Legia Warsaw in third.

Argentinian Héctor Yazalde scores 46 goals for Sporting Lisbon to win the European Golden Boot award.

Bayern Munich win the German Bundesliga.

Feyenoord with the Dutch Eredivisie.

Argentinian Independiente retain the Copa Libertadores when they beat the Brazilian club São Paulo.

Lazio win the Italian Serie A.

Barcelona win the Spanish La Liga.

Leeds United win the Football League in England. Middlesbrough win the Second Division under Jack Charlton.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: