Best English Player of Recent Times?

PFA Players’ Player of the Year – started in 1974 – English winners:

  • Norman Hunter, Colin Todd, Peter Shilton, Terry McDermott, Kevin Keegan, Peter Reid, Gary Lineker, Clive Allen, John Barnes, David Platt, Gary Pallister, Alan Shearer (twice), Les Ferdinand, Teddy Sheringham, John Terry, Steven Gerrard.

PFA Young player of the Year – also started in 1974:

  • Kevin Beattie, Mervyn Day, Peter Barnes, Tony Woodcock, Cyrille Regis, Glenn Hoddle, Gary Shaw, Steve Moran, Paul Walsh, Tony Cottee, Tony Adams, Paul Gascoigne, Paul Merson, Matthwe Le Tissier, Lee Sharpe, Andy Cole, Robbie Fowler (twice), David Beckham, Michael Owen, Steven Gerrard, Jermaine Jenas, Scott Parker, Wayne Rooney (twice)

Football Writers’ Association Footballer of the Year – since 1948 – here’s the English players since 1974:

  • Ian Callaghan, Alan Mullery, Kevin Keegan, Emlyn Hughes, Terry McDermott, Steve Perryman, Gary Lineker (twice), Clive Allen, John Barnes (twice), Chris Waddle, Alan Shearer, Teddy Sheringham, Frank Lampard

European Footballer of the Year – since 1956 – here’s the English players that have finished in the top three since 1974 (placement):

  • Kevin Keegan (2), Kevin Keegan (1), Kevin Keegan (1), Gary Lineker (2), Alan Shearer (3), David Beckham (2), Micheal Owen (1), Steven Gerrard (3), Frank Lampard (2)

The English Football Hall of Fame housed at the National Football Museum in Preston.

  • Paul Gascoigne, Kevin Keegan, Bryan Robson, Gary Lineker, Tony Adams, Viv Anderson, Alan Shearer, John Barnes, Ian Wright, Colin Bell

FIFA 100 chosen by Pele and unveiled on March 4 2004. Seven English players where selected:

  • David Beckham, Kevin Keegan, Gary Lineker, Michael Owen, Alan Shearer.

(The other two where Gordon Banks and Bobby Charlton. No Bobby Moore!?!?).

FIFA World Player of the Year – since 1991 (placement):

  • Gary Lineker (3), Alan Shearer (3), David Beckham (2), David Beckham (2), Frank Lampard (2)

World Soccer magazine world player of the year – since 1982. One English winner:

  • Micheal Owen

The same magazine made a list of the 100 best players of the 20th century (ranking 1 is best):

  • Gary Lineker (34), Micheal Owen (44), David Beckham (49), Kevin Keegan (56), Paul Gascoigne (57), Glenn Hoddle (62), Alan Shearer (65), Bryan Robson (93).

To be continued …


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: