On This Day – Spanish La Liga Starts

10-2-1929: On this day in 1929 the Spanish League La Liga started. The first season that lasted until the 23rd June 1929 consisted of ten teams that finished in this order:

  1. FC Barcelona
  2. Real Madrid
  3. Athletic Bilbao
  4. Real Sociedad
  5. Arenas Club de Getxo
  6. Athletic Club de Madrid
  7. RCD Espanol
  8. CE Europa
  9. Real Union
  10. Racing de Santander

Real Madrid played their first League match on the opening day of the season defeated CE Europa 5-0. Barcelona made their League debut two days later (12-2-1929) winning 2-1 at Racing de Santander.

The two Spanish giants met in the second round of matches that where held on the 17th of February. Real Madrid won the match at Barcelona 2-1. The return match in Madrid was played on the 9th of May and again the away team won (0-1).



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: