On This Day – Bayern Munich Founded

27-2-1900: On this day in 1900 German Bundesliga giant Bayern Munich where founded. Here’s a short description of the club’s beginnings from it’s web-site:

“The first 100 years of Bayern Munich’s history – and its success story – begin and end with the name Franz. Is it just a coincidence that the leader of the eleven spirited rebels who met to form FC Bayern in the Gisela Restaurant in Munich on the night of 27th February 1900, was a certain Franz John? Or that it was a Franz who masterminded the split from MTV 1879, the original club, which had suppressed every attempt by the footballers at independence? Is it only chance that exactly a century later, another Franz, this time Beckenbauer, would lead Bayern Munich, now an experienced and visionary club with countless titles to its name, into the new millennium as its president?”

Bayern have won the following major trophies in their 108 year history:

  • Bundesliga 20 times (A record – the second highest is Dynamo Berlin with 10 wins)
  • European Cup / Champions League 4 times (1974, 1975, 1976 and 2001) (Only Real Madrid 9, AC Milan 7 and Liverpool 5 have won more)
  • European Cup Winners’ Cup 1 (1967)
  • UEFA Cup 1 (1996)



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: