The Greats – Franco Baresi

“I used to watch Baresi when I was younger. He had everything. Not only was he the best man-to-man marker around he was a brilliant footballer as well. He was so calm, had a great first touch and was also a great passer of the ball.”

Ashley Cole, FourFourTwo magazine, July 2001

AC Milan badge and shirt

“Baresi was quality on the ball, and like all great Italian centre-halves he was hard and would stop at nothing to win the ball. Oddly, he was in his late 20s before he got the recognition he deserved, and by then, he was the world’s best defender.”

Ronald Koeman, FourFourTwo magazine, January 2008

“Franco was the best player I have ever played with. The guy was world class to his core. He had everything – pace, two feet, and he was a leader of men. I remember the first time I trained with him at Milan, I couldn’t believe my eyes, I thought, Christ, he is unbelievable. He was a joy to play with, and what’s more, Franco was a lovely bloke too.”

Ray Wilkins, FourFourTwo magazine, August 2003

Photo: VanDammeMaarten

Leave a Reply

